# Tuition Incentive Program

# Eligibility Checklist

- □ Received Medicaid coverage for 24 months within a 36-month period between the ages of 12 and high school graduation.
- □ Completed and returned application to SSG before high school graduation or GED and before age 20.
- Must be a Michigan resident.
- ☐ Must be a U.S. citizen.



**Student Scholarships and Grants** 

### Student Scholarships and Grants Michigan Department of Treasury Student Financial Services Bureau

P.O. Box 30462 Lansing, MI 48909-7962 1-888-4-GRANTS www.michigan.gov/ssg

### Eligibility

To be eligible for the Tuition Incentive Program (TIP), a student must have or have had Medicaid coverage for 24 months within any 36-month period. Students are identified by the Michigan Department of Human Services (DHS) and can become eligible for TIP as early as age 12.

### **Application**

Once identified as having met the Medicaid coverage requirement, Student Scholarships and Grants (SSG) will send the student an application. The student MUST return the completed form to SSG before graduating from high school with a diploma, a certificate of completion, or obtaining a GED. Student MUST do both of these before their 20th birthday.

### TIP Phase I Covers:

- The cost of tuition at the current in-district rate at participating Michigan community colleges.
- The cost of tuition at the lower level resident rate at participating Michigan public universities.
- Current rate of \$86 per credit hour at participating degree-granting independent non-profit colleges, federally tribally-controlled colleges, or Focus: HOPE.
- Mandatory fees up to \$250 per semester/term.

### TIP Phase II Covers:

- Tuition and mandatory fees not to exceed \$500 per semester or \$400 per term up to a maximum of \$2,000 for credits earned in a four-year program.
- Must be used within 30 months of Phase I completion.

Detailed program information can be found at www.michigan.gov/ssg.

## **Participating Institutions**

See the list below and note which institutions are Phase II ONLY prior to enrollment.

Phase I ONLY	Alpena Community College Bay de Noc Community College Bay Mills Community College Compass College of Cinematic Arts Delta College Glen Oaks Community College Gogebic Community College Grand Rapids Community College Henry Ford Community College Jackson College Kalamazoo Valley Community College Kellogg Community College Kellogg Community College Lake Michigan College Lansing Community College Macomb Community College	Mid Michigan Community College Monroe County Community College Montcalm Community College Mott Community College Muskegon Community College North Central Michigan College Northwestern Michigan College Oakland Community College Saint Clair County Community College Schoolcraft College Southwestern Michigan College Washtenaw Community College Wayne County Community College West Shore Community College Focus: HOPE Keweenaw Bay Ojibwa Community College Saginaw Chippewa Tribal College
Phase II ONLY	Adrian College Aquinas College Baker College Cleary University Concordia University Cornerstone University Davenport University Ferris State University Finlandia University Grace Bible College Great Lakes Christian College Kuyper College Lake Superior State University Lawrence Technological University Madonna University	Marygrove College Michigan Jewish Institute Michigan State University (will pay Phase I benefits only for Institute of Agriculture Technology certificate programs) Michigan Technological University Northern Michigan University Northwood University Rochester College Sacred Heart Major Seminary (will pay Phase I benefits only for Associate of Arts in Ministry [A.A.M.]) Siena Heights University Spring Arbor University
Phase I and Phase II	Adrian College Aquinas College Baker College Cleary University Concordia University Cornerstone University Davenport University Ferris State University Finlandia University Grace Bible College Great Lakes Christian College Kuyper College Lake Superior State University Lawrence Technological University Madonna University	Marygrove College Michigan Jewish Institute Michigan State University (will pay Phase I benefits only for Institute of Agriculture Technology certificate programs) Michigan Technological University Northern Michigan University Northwood University Rochester College Sacred Heart Major Seminary (will pay Phase I benefits only for Associate of Arts in Ministry [A.A.M.]) Siena Heights University Spring Arbor University
Community Colleges	Eligible charges include current in-district tuition and mandatory fees. For persons residing in an area that is not included in any community college district, the out-of-district tuition rate may be authorized.	
Public Universities	Eligible charges include lower level resident tuition and mandatory fees for the current year.  Reminder: The student must be enrolled in an associate degree program to be eligible for TIP Phase I benefits.	
Independent Colleges and Universities	Eligible charges include mandatory fees for the current year and a per credit payment that does not exceed the average community college in-district per credit tuition rate. <b>Reminder:</b> The student must be enrolled in an associate degree program to be eligible for TIP Phase I benefits.	